Honda CR-Z Hybrid Car Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2011 Cr-Z Ex NSBP
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys, pardon my question if it seems silly but what's the purpose of this round base in the stock front suspension? Can it be partially removed without any compromise? Or would some coilovers take care of my clearance issue? My neighbor is selling me a set of OEM Honda wheels dirt cheap and it's almost too good to pass up. But I have this clearance issue . Rim and tires are 235 35 19x8.5 +50 offset . I noticed coilovers do not have that round base that's giving the issue with the stock suspension. Any ideas or input is and will be greatly appreciated

Attachments

·
Registered
2014 CR-Z, Base, CVT
110 Posts
I'm no suspension expert, but that looks like the place where the spring seats and holds the weight of the car, so don't remove it/cut itunless you want half your face ripped off by the spring.

In your case, you'll want at least 20mm spacers, most likely 25mm, because Accord wheels have a ton of offset. I'm running 18x8 wheels with +35 offset, and there's just enough space for everything. There's been some rubbing on the inside, but I've never noticed it, so it's either not serious, or one of those odd situations where the suspension rubs only when it's fully compressed and the wheels are fully turned. As for fitment, they sit pretty much flush at the back, poke out about 10mm on the front.

·
Registered
1,431 Posts
that's the spring perch. coilovers use a more compact spring and have a more compact perch.

Trim it at your peril.

The increased width and offset on the accord wheels are the source of your clearance issues. I bet if you turn the steering wheel all the way to one side, you'll hit the frame rail with the tire before you seat the wheel on the hub.

·
Registered
2011 Cr-Z Ex NSBP
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #4