Honda CR-Z Hybrid Car Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My question isn't exactly the same as the useful or gimmick thread.

It might be because I'm new to the concept of the CVT.
But I don't seem to understand the very purpose of the paddle shifters in a car with that type of transmission.

With your more traditional automatic transmission, like the one in the fit, the function and purpose of the paddle shifters makes sense.

A CVT, of course, has no "gears". The number of possible ratios is, theoretically anyways, infinite.
As I understand it ... the computer selects the best ratio for the moment and makes it so.

In that sense ...
Wouldn't forcing the transmission, that can select any ratio it wants, into a strict 7 different arbitrary ratios essentially be akin to shooting the CVT in the foot?

The odds of one of those 7 being the most efficient or effective ratio for the situation seems pretty low ... if the computer can choose a ratio in between two of the gears that would be better for the situation ... wouldn't the driver just be better off not touching the paddle shifters altogether?

I'm probably missing something here ... like maybe the computer's "intelligence" when it comes to ratio selection isn't all it's cracked up to be ... so I'm hoping someone can enlighten me.

· Registered
2,147 Posts
I use it when autoXing, otherwise I let the computer do the thinking. Bums me out that it won't hold a gear when coming up to redline even in 'manual' mode.

· Registered
297 Posts
In that sense ...
Wouldn't forcing the transmission, that can select any ratio it wants, into a strict 7 different arbitrary ratios essentially be akin to shooting the CVT in the foot?