Honda CR-Z Hybrid Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So...

I don't see anyone reporting that they've gotten into a car accident with their CR-Z
Unfortunately, I'm it...

I'm new to manual transmissions. Sure I've learned before on a friend's car, but I never owned a manual vehicle of my own, until I got my CR-Z.

It was just past dusk.
I was pulling off the Long Island Expressway onto Route 110 South.
I was waiting at the light, on the right side of two lanes that are to merge onto RTE110.
There was an 18 Wheeler to my left, who needless to say, didn't see me.

The light turns green, and I stall out in 1st gear.
The 18 Wheeler, who should've turned right into the middle, or maybe even the left lane of RTE110, aimed for the right lane.

After I stall, I look over to my left.
I see the accident coming, but I cant start the car back, up and get moving in time.

I watched the trailer of this 18 Wheeler, run into and along the side of my car.
The ****er didnt even know he hit me.

I had to put it in Sport mode, and chase him down the road to get him to stop. That is when my side view mirror fell off.

I hadn't even made the 2nd payment yet. I hadn't even crossed 1500miles.
I cursed a lot, and loud...

I paid my deductible, Geico forked up $7k in parts and labor.
Geico agrees the accident wasnt my fault as I wasn't moving when I was struck.
Not to mention the dude was taking the turn improperly.

Two and half weeks later my car is as new as can be.

They replaced the door, bumpers & panels.

At least its a lease.

2011-03-15_07-20-33_890 by AngrySpade, on Flickr

2011-03-15_07-20-17_294 by AngrySpade, on Flickr

2011-03-15_07-20-08_637 by AngrySpade, on Flickr

2011-03-15_07-20-02_102 by AngrySpade, on Flickr

2011-03-15_07-19-53_839 by AngrySpade, on Flickr

2011-03-15_07-19-43_301 by AngrySpade, on Flickr

2011-03-15_07-19-33_918 by AngrySpade, on Flickr

·
Registered
1,390 Posts