Honda CR-Z Hybrid Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

· Capt'n Jack
9,491 Posts
:thumbsup: Yea, nice.. Day pics would be good.

· Registered
666 Posts
Ummm...

The hood looks nice in general, but I am NOT digging the RIPPLES in the carbon fabric underneath the clear resin! :angry: For Seibon, I wouldn't expect to see that. Looks like improper wet lay-up and improper attention to detail during the vacuum bagging and curing process. Especially disappointing since my son just spent almost $600 last week and placed an order for that exact same hood! I hope it looks like $600 worth of CF perfection when it arrives next week. :mellow:

And for the nay-sayers: I'm not just bitching about nothing. I happen to do Carbon Fiber, Kevlar and Fiberglass (and various other aircraft structural) work for a living; I am a technical training school instructor for the U.S. Air Force. 20+ years experience.

Do the ripples make that hood structurally unsound? NOT AT ALL on the front of a Honda CR-Z. On an F-22A Raptor? YES. I know it's JUST a hood, but besides the weight savings factor, aren't most of us buying CF parts mostly for visual appeal and AWE factor?

With Seibon being one of THE top name brands for CF hoods and aero parts (along with VIS) I wouldn't want to look at my beautiful carbon fiber hood and see those ripples and imperfections in it.

What site did you buy it from? I wonder if it was a factory second?

Also, how was the latching mechanism? Pretty solid? Or are you planning on using hood pins or aero-catch latches?

· Registered
750 Posts
Looks great. I am glad to hear that the fitment is perfect. I would like the hood but hesitant to get it because of the vents. Would not want water to get in when washing the car or when it rains. It would be good if there were optional guard covers.