Honda CR-Z Hybrid Car Forums banner
21 - 40 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
50 Posts
I assume you have done all the procedures and continuity checks I mentioned above?
If so then when you have cleaned connectors on all the boards put it back together and see if it works?

If it doesn't then you will just have to replace boards. Starting with A then possibly D.
You cannot test the boards easily except in the car unless you have special equipment.

Forget about the expected voltages for now.
Hi Peter,

Sorry to Bother you again, I was able to get HDS data list for my IMA Battery that you asked for in the earlier post and it seems like Its BMS Board C that is faulty rather then A (different value then the rest)? (although apparently there are no Burn or any damage to the board itself)

- Also from Battery module voltages, module 21 to 30 (Modules with C board) is at consistent 3600mv whereas other are at around 3758. I was thinking could it be the reason that C board becomes faulty?? because its voltages dropped down more relative to rest of the modules. or maybe the board itself is fine and IMA just turn itself off because one module is out of Balance??

- Another thing that concerns me is my SOC is at 20% and Useable Capacity shows 0%. Im not sure if that is because IMA is off or battery is actually dead and thats why it throws the code.

Could you please guide me if I should try finding the BMS board or try Charging the battery to its usable capacity because one workshop owner said even if I replace the board it will waste that board too because my battery is dead (I wouldn't trust the guy though, He Knows nothing about the IMA and probably trying to sell me his NiMH pack)


P.S - Sorry about the blurry pictures. took them in hurry because 12v was about to die
 

Attachments

·
IMA Enthusiast
Joined
·
1,318 Posts
Do not try and charge the pack in any way it's almost certainly not out of balance.

That def looks like board C is faulty so you will have to replace it.

You have no useable capacity because the control module is not getting valid/sensible data.
So it disables the IMA and sets useable to zero 0% and SOC to 20%
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
50 Posts
Do not try and charge the pack in any way it's almost certainly not out of balance.

That def looks like board C is faulty so you will have to replace it.

You have no useable capacity because the control module is not getting valid/sensible data.
So it disables the IMA and sets useable to zero 0% and SOC to 20%
Alright, That makes sense.. I ll try finding the C board now then.. Thank you Soo much Peter. You are the best :)
 

·
IMA Enthusiast
Joined
·
1,318 Posts
Search for the part number on Google 1K420-RW0-013 (C) or the error number P0B3B Voltage sensor circuit internal error.
Note the Honda Civic 2013-2016 has the same part/battery as the CR-Z.

This is an e-bay listing for an A board, but it says they have three, so might have the C board if you ask.

Someone else tackling the same problem..

I have one available in the UK but the cost would be £200 and you would have to arrange a reliable courier DHL/FEDEX to collect it from my address.
Payment would have to be via paypal friends and family. What country are you in?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
50 Posts
Search for the part number on Google 1K420-RW0-013 (C) or the error number P0B3B Voltage sensor circuit internal error.
Note the Honda Civic 2013-2016 has the same part/battery as the CR-Z.

This is an e-bay listing for an A board, but it says they have three, so might have the C board if you ask.

Someone else tackling the same problem..

I have one available in the UK but the cost would be £200 and you would have to arrange a courier DHL/FEDEX to collect it from my address.
Payment would have to be via paypal friends and family.
yes i have dropped a message to both of them a couple of days ago but no one replied yet.. we do not have paypal here and i dont have any relative there in UK, So Im gonna try to find the part here locally first in used car parts market, if it fails then I'll try to find someone in Uk to help me out with this..
Really appreciate your help with all of this Peter, Thank you :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
50 Posts
Ok So just to update, I was able to get my hands on a spare BMS C Board from Honda Civic Gen3 Battery Locally. part number and all the internal serial numbers and circuits were identical but the problem is still isn't resolved even after replacing C board..

Still same old voltage readings with same P0B3B error showing C Board as faulty so took it to another workshop nearby. the boy there said my old C board also looks totally fine and he dont think its a C board issue. He thinks C board itself is not getting proper voltage or current and thats why its throwing a C Board error. He could not perform further testing on the car itself as my 12v battery died in the middle of inspection So he kept the board, to do further detail testing over the weekend to rule out the board as the issue. and Im now schedule to take the car there on Monday again. will see where does it go from here and will update here in case someone faces same issue in future.
 

·
IMA Enthusiast
Joined
·
1,318 Posts
We have had this before where the HDS wrongly identifies the faulty board.
Maybe due to the HDS software having a bug or bad connections etc.
If you have access to the other boards from the Gen3 Civic swap them all out.

The board 12V power and CAN signals are daisy chained in the harness. If C isn't working then D probably should not be either.
You should have already eliminated this as a cause with your earlier testing/contact cleaning/continuity testing etc.

However it's possible the connector for board C is faulty/corroded inside the socket pins?
Maybe swap the BMS boards harness connectors loom out if necessary.
Or chop off the C board connector and splice in another from the spare pack.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
50 Posts
We have had this before where the HDS wrongly identifies the faulty board.
If you have access to the other boards from the Gen3 Civic swap them all out.

The board 12V power and CAN signals are daisy chained in the harness. If C isn't working then D probably should not be either.
You should have already eliminated this as a cause with your earlier testing/contact cleaning/continuity testing etc.

However it's possible the connector for board C is faulty/corroded inside the socket pins?
Maybe swap the harness connectors loom out if necessary. Or chop off the C board connector and splice in another from the spare pack.
Ahan, Yes i can get other 3 boards too and test it, although its the official Honda HDS that i used to get my Data list not the clone one but sure, just to rule all the boards out i'll swap all of them out too.

and yes I checked the contacts and connectors carefully and cleaned it (those daisy chained one too at the bottom) and they all are visually seems to be fine, no corrosion or anything suspicious.

I dont know which points to actually test in the connector for continuity to rule out the harness connectors and wiring as suspects so i ll ask the workshop guy to check that too on monday.

Also one question, when i replace all the boards and if any of the board is the issue, will it just start working when i connect everything back or do I have to connect HDS and remove the codes etc too from the ECU for it to work??
 

·
IMA Enthusiast
Joined
·
1,318 Posts
It should just work. The IMA light should be off if all is good.
The CEL might need to be cleared or will go off after a few drive cycles.

If the low voltage side BMS black harness on the Civic is the same as the CR-Z one in this picture then get that as well.
Note board A is furthest away (at the end of the daisy chain)

Automotive design Lego Auto part Machine Automotive exterior
 

·
IMA Enthusiast
Joined
·
1,318 Posts
Now IIRC those brown connectors on the side of the pack are 12V power and ground star distribution/central connection points.
So it might not be a daisy chain setup after all for power and ground.
Def worth having a look in them for any issues and testing continuity from them to each 12V and gnd point on the individual grey board connectors. .
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
50 Posts
Hi @PeterPerkins, sorry to bother you again, I have replaced all 4 boards but it still did not solve my problem :(. Just to check if the Battery module itself got weak, I checked voltages manually across all the cells in all 4 modules and they are all at 3.75v (even the 1 on which C board is attached to, on HDS it says 3.6v).

I also checked continuity on the cable with grey and white connectors at the bottom (that is going into brown connectors on the side) and that is also fine.

anymore ideas which part should I check next? or are you certain that probably this C board is also faulty? or maybe civic C board is not supported on CRZ?
 

·
IMA Enthusiast
Joined
·
1,318 Posts
The civic boards are the same parts numbers as the CR-Z boards so unless you got unlucky and the one you bought is faulty??

How strange.
The only thing left is the BCM/MCM module that the BMS boards send data too. You will have to change that probably for a proper CR-Z one.
Check the part numbers with a Civic one if you have access to it in case it is the same.

If you do change that module you will have to do several housekeeping things in the HDS menus like rotor position learning and MCM replacement etc.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
46 Posts
The civic boards are the same parts numbers as the CR-Z boards so unless you got unlucky and the one you bought is faulty??

How strange.
The only thing left is the BCM/MCM module that the BMS boards send data too. You will have to change that probably for a proper CR-Z one.
Check the part numbers with a Civic one if you have access to it in case it is the same.

If you do change that module you will have to do several housekeeping things in the HDS menus like rotor position learning and MCM replacement etc.
so if I translate 175 for you, can you send me board D? but if this does not help, it will also be necessary to change board A?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Hi Peter,
I’m Herman Kow from Malaysia. I have a 2013 Honda Civic hybrid with P0B3B error. IMA disabled. OBD scan show sel 31 to 40 all showing 3.6v exactly. Which is highly impossible. Could it be BMS can bus problem? On board D , I have measured resistance across the two pins (pin 4 &5 I think or maybe pin 1 & 2) and getting 124ohm where the other boards measuring few kilo ohms.About 2.4k.
Hope your could kindly help and advise. Thanks

regards,
Herman
 

·
IMA Enthusiast
Joined
·
1,318 Posts
Hi Peter,
I’m Herman Kow from Malaysia. I have a 2013 Honda Civic hybrid with P0B3B error.
Herman

First read all the info about this error. There is a lot.
The thread below is important. Read it carefully.


Do you have an HDS?
Which board did your code reader identify as bad?
Which connector have you been measuring?
Did you measure with a connector plugged in or unplugged?
Post pics of your HDS/reader screen etc..

You almost certainly need a new BMS board and probably not the one you think.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Hi Peter,
Thanks for the prompt reply.
I have read your thread. That’s how I got to know about you. I’ve even subscribed to your YouTube channel. As for the HDS, I have ordered from China the Xhorse Hds cable to be used with hds version 3.101.019. Should be arriving in a week or so. I hope it would be able to diagnose my problem. The code P0B3B was given to me by my the local workshop which is not specialised in hybrid cars. Didn’t know which board is faulty.
Your post gave me the confidence to try to repair myself. I understand that the board are not interchangeable (magic smoke)but board A&C are changeable by means of changing the addressing resistors. Also true with B &D. Also the Hds will wrongly diagnose the faulty board. Which you have confirm it.

So, without a HDS, my best shot was measuring the resistance at the pins of all 4 boards. Comparing all values to find the faulty board. Found that board D pins resistance measurement for CAN communication connector between the pins 4&5 is lower than normal about 123.2ohm. The other 3 boards measuring 2.43k ohm. Measurements were done with the boards taken out(connectors unplugged). Could this be the problem?
might do the address resistor change on board B to convert it to board D to confirm this. Hope I’m going the right way about this.

regards?
Herman
 

·
IMA Enthusiast
Joined
·
1,318 Posts
I def would not change CAN id resistors on your boards yet. They are microscopic.... (tiny)

If your voltages on cells 31-40 were wrong then ASFAIK you need a new A board not a D board as the HDS will tell you.
 

·
IMA Enthusiast
Joined
·
1,318 Posts
I see now where you are measuring. (y)

Board D is the last board in the CAN chain and has the termination resistors across the BUS so 120R is right for D.
Boards A,B,C have higher value resistors on the BUS. So that resistance difference you measured is not the problem.

It does throw up an issue I hadn't noticed before with reconfiguring a B board to be a D or vice versa if necessary.
You might also have to change/modify the termination resistors as well as the CAN id ones.

Anyway as mentioned I think you need a new (A) board.

We can confirm this with your HDS when it arrives but I would start looking for an A one now.
Or a C board you can change to an A.
 
21 - 40 of 47 Posts
Top