Honda CR-Z Hybrid Car Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

Honda CR-Z EX in Toronto, Canada, eh!

Having a 1988 Red Honda Civic hatchback and always envying the CRX, for years I've been waiting for the CRZ to finally arrive in Canada. On Saturday July 10th, at a Mercedes meet at Sunnybrook park, a Honda Canada employee who just got an automatic CRZ EX the day before was passing by and checked out our Mercedes meet and offered me a test drive. This CRZ from Honda Canada is probably the demonstrator for the Canadian media car reviewers. Knowing that the Honda dealer won't even get the CRZ until late August or early September,.... Where would I drive this CRZ to? A Honda Dealership! And of course, some of the staff came out in awe.

Keep in mind, I'm not a professional car reviewer.

Under the hood, I'm amazed so much technology fits in such a small engine! The Honda Dealership staff were amazed the battery was so small.

In the CRZ,... you don't sit as low as that old generation of 1988-91 Civic/CRX. Seats are comfortable with good support. Here in North America, the back seat area is for storage only whereas in Asia there are real back seats there,... same scenario as the 1988-91 CRX. The back seat area of the CRX & CRZ isn't big enough to fit the average North American butt! Like the CRX, the CRZ has a nice large back glass area on the hatch for visibility when reversing. But now we have two decades of technology available,... parktronic sensors and reverse camera,... sadly neither of these are available on CRZ.

Blind spot visibility is many times worst than on the CRX. CRZ blind spot visibility is scary. You'll need to pray every time you change lane.

Handling is signature Honda,... it feels like a Honda. Quite smooth and corners well. Decent braking.