Honda CR-Z Hybrid Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
2012 Black Ex
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,
My car is a 2012 and nearing 200k miles of fun driving, just a great car! My current issue is that my driver side low beam went out and I bought a bulb(same as I had bought some years ago) and it wouldn't turn on. I took it to a mechanic and he said i need a whole new headlight module and headlight assembly... for a 400/100 cost , so well over 600. The car has been relatively problem free so dont mind paying if i have to, but just the reading of posts it seems ballasts or fuses go and those get replaced at much cheaper cost.... I have no mechanical knowledge, yes i know, but just wondering what if any input from you all to help me in asking the right questions of mechanics and or suggestions on troubleshooting or if this is a more common issue and i just haven't read that online yet? Im driving only in daylight but really need to get it fixed and hoping for a much less expensive solution!!! Thank you all

·
Premium Member
8,675 Posts
HID (EX or Above) or Halogen (base)? HID has ballasts, Halogen does not. If Shop does not know go elsewhere, Ballasts are for each side and can burn out.

If HID, even if the bulb is burned out, do not leave the socket with no bulb. It is a high voltage system and can arc over or melt if no bulb is in it. It can cause a fire! You can for testing take bulb from working side and swap to non-working, same can be done with ballasts and the igniter. If ballast is bad, they can be replaced, so can the igniter. Never touch the glass of the bulb with bare hands! The oil can cause a hot spot which will cause the bulb to burn out.

Due to the way they dim over time, it is recommended to replace both at the same time. If HIDs one of the best deals for bulbs are from Replacement OEM HID Bulbs for 2011-2016 Honda CR-Z (pair) $80 for the pair! If you mention this forum, shipping is free, and they have a 3-Year warranty.