Honda CR-Z Hybrid Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, new to the forums here. I just got my very first job and started saving for a car.
I've had my eyes set on a Cr-Z EX ever since I graduated. And now that I have some
kind of source of income, I'm planning on buying the 2013 EX model as a birthday
present. I'm not quite sure if the few extra grand is worth it compared to the older
models, and if I should get a manual or a CVT. I live in Frisco, TX and it seems the
prices for this car is about $20,000 to $24,000 (that's without any additional fees,
tax, registration, etc...). I currently own a 2005 Toyota Corolla, which is an
automatic, and I drive pretty aggressively on it (most of the time to avoid traffic).
My commute is pretty far, about 100 miles a day. I'd say about 70% of my time
driving is on the highway, 30% in city. Traffic isn't too bad, with the exception of
Fridays. I drive an average of about 75mph.

I pretty much know nothing about cars, and I've only driven the Corolla since I
learned how to drive. I'm currently learning how to drive a manual in my brother's
Civic SI. So my question is... is getting the 2013 model that much of a difference in
"fun" compared to the 2012 or 2011? And should I get a manual or a CVT, my brother
says after awhile, driving a manual becomes muscle memory and shouldn't feel that
much different in traffic as driving an automatic.

Edit: I don't believe I will be planning any mods-performance wise. I do plan on
getting mods to the exterior to make the car more attractive.

Regards,

KLB

·
Registered
1,702 Posts