Honda CR-Z Hybrid Car Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a college student and don't have a ton of cash to throw into tuning the car. I have heard a lot of shops will allow you to have test parts or at a reduced cost if you let them use the car...any in the dallas area? Feel free to post alternative ways to go about getting parts etc.

·
Registered
183 Posts
I am in the same boat as you, Dallas area college student. I have been around the forums for about a month now, and pretty much all of the shops / companies that allow you to test parts are based in California due to its vicinity to Japan. So unfortunately it seems that we are stuck paying full price for parts... :cry:

But if anyone knows otherwise, I too would be interested it knowing!

·
Registered
2,488 Posts
for universal parts like wheels, you can get them used on other forums. as for other parts, used is also your best bet. problem is - the car is new so nobody here will be selling used parts for a while.

aside from used, sometimes the vendors do group buys. You can be savvy and try to find shops that pricematch to get the lowest price you can.

Dont spend money on cheap parts from non reputable companies, its better to wait

·
Registered
1,285 Posts
I am a college student and don't have a ton of cash to throw into tuning the car. I have heard a lot of shops will allow you to have test parts or at a reduced cost if you let them use the car...any in the dallas area? Feel free to post alternative ways to go about getting parts etc.
Man, you DO NOT want to be a guinea pig! They'll use your car like it's nothing, ride it hard and put it away sopping wet. Don't do it.

My advice, as you're a college kid, is to save the money, buy a used car and play with that. You don't want a nice car in college. Jealous wankers will scratch it up and maybe even dent it.