$1600 for a new battery? - Honda CRZ Forum: Honda CR-Z Hybrid Car Forums
 12Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-11-2019, 04:32 PM Thread Starter

$1600 for a new battery?

TL;DR: Car wouldn’t start and electronics dead. Jump start didn’t work. Dealer said battery needs a new cell and quoted $1600.

I am a college student that delivers pizzas. I came home from work, then went back out 2-3 hours later. When I got to my 2011 CR-Z, the electric key fob did not work. I assumed that the key battery had died so manually unlocked the car and tried to start it. The car was completely dead, no electronics and it would not turn over. My insurance covers towing, so i had a tow truck come out and try to jump start, which did not work. The car didn’t turn over at all. I had it towed to the Honda Dealer and asked them to test the battery to see if it was truely dead before testing other parts. They came back and said that the battery has a bad cell and needs to be replaced. They quoted me at $1630 which seems too high for a normal car battery, but too low for a hybrid battery cell. The dealer is closed until Monday. Is this a reasonable price or what should I ask to have done?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-11-2019, 06:16 PM
Super Duper Member

Garage
It's most likely the Nickel hybrid battery, but you need to make sure they clarify. Sounds about right for a Honda part if they're only doing a partial. At that age though you may want to consider a full aftermarket replacement. Bumblebee I believe is a(the only?) brand to look for.
If they are talking about the 12 volt, that should only be $100-150 for a Honda brand.
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-11-2019, 06:28 PM
Super Duper Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joev View Post
TL;DR: Car wouldn’t start and electronics dead. Jump start didn’t work. Dealer said battery needs a new cell and quoted $1600.