Speedworks Turbo Kit - Page 14 - Honda CRZ Forum: Honda CR-Z Hybrid Car Forums
 22Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #131 of 140 (permalink) Old 11-26-2016, 10:57 PM
Member
 
Nivek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Pakistan
Posts: 145
Good luck with MAF based tuning but its a lot sensitive.think when your MAF sensor will get dirty,the amount of air passing through will be same but it will read less may leading to lean conditions in boost.and 2ndly factoy ecu fuel trims are mostly on MAF based readings.so car wont be behaving smoothly i think.nowis the time to think to choose MAF or MAp based tuning.coz if u go speed density maf route you will be spending a lot in that route and end result may not be good, especailly taking care to clean MAF etc

''Impossible'' itself says: 'i' 'm' 'possible'.
So never give up hope..
Nivek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #132 of 140 (permalink) Old 11-27-2016, 12:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Nightwish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 385
Nivek,
replacing the maf doesn't cost that much. I have the most of the piping already here from a previous build. I meant with throwing away a lot of money, everything the tuning has cost me. (ktuner license and tuning sesions on the dyno.)

When relocating the maf doesn't work as we want, we have to begin from scratch again. (buying the AEM Fic6 and again tuning on the dyno.)

I think in about 2 weeks i will make the conversion of the maf sensor.

I did some reading in the manual of the AEM Fic6. Did you also connect all the injector wires? (fuel injector input and output)
Nightwish is online now  
post #133 of 140 (permalink) Old 11-27-2016, 02:01 PM
Member
 
Nivek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Pakistan
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightwish View Post
Nivek,
replacing the maf doesn't cost that much. I have the most of the piping already here from a previous build. I meant with throwing away a lot of money, everything the tuning has cost me. (ktuner license and tuning sesions on the dyno.)

When relocating the maf doesn't work as we want, we have to begin from scratch again. (buying the AEM Fic6 and again tuning on the dyno.)

I think in about 2 weeks i will make the conversion of the maf sensor.

I did some reading in the manual of the AEM Fic6. Did you also connect all the injector wires? (fuel injector input and output)
Yes we have to use in and out inj 1-4 wires.its simple.because thats how AEm will control the opening of injectors more or less as you will want it.and with AEM u wont be starting from scratch.i had same LEA-MF6 crz engine.you can start with my map.as our turbos are slighly different so fuel table will have to be adjusted slightly to when the boost comes.mine started building from 2700-4000(full 8-9 psi).
and MAF sensor table may need some changing as your air filter might be different.i was using K&N instead of filter which came with my turbo kit.
other wires will be TPS sensor,Cam sensor,MAF I/O,MAP I/O.
but i hope you get tuned with your MAf sensor and ktuner.i am just saying that MAp & AEM route is not difficult.you will need external wideband,which you already have plus an OBDII ELm based adapter which ate like 10$ on ebay/amazon and a free playstore app "torque" to see your fuel trims when you tune it.plus a spark plug defouler if you have deleted your cat.
they go like 5$
Spark plug non fouler - Honda-Tech
https://www.amazon.com/Dorman-42009-.../dp/B000CO91FY
plus i dont get it how relocating MAF before turbo will get problem fixed? the amount and speed of air may be same but turbo is making that denser.so the things matter after turbo.but i hope speed density guys know their stuff and good luck again.cant wait to see another crz tubo running
Do u have AEM eugo wide band or other company?

''Impossible'' itself says: 'i' 'm' 'possible'.
So never give up hope..
Nivek is offline  
post #134 of 140 (permalink) Old 11-27-2016, 02:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Nightwish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 385
Thanks Nivek. Using your maps would help.
Wiring would be no problem for me. I don't have the aem wideband, will get one, becouse the one i have isn't giving accurate readings comparing to the readings from the oem afr sensor.

I have the OBD2 ELM and using Dashcommand.

I don't know eighter why the maf sensor would perform better before turbo, but some big tuners are saying that it's the best place for turbo setups, so gonna try that.

I have a K&N filter also..... That came with the kit.
I won't need a O2 fooler, becouse my 2nd O2 sensor is disabled by the Ktuner software although it's after the racecat, it gave errors sometimes, so decided to disable it.
Nightwish is online now  
post #135 of 140 (permalink) Old 11-27-2016, 04:51 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 25
I've nothing really to contribute to the pre-existing discussion - only to say I think what you guys are doing is great. I really wanted to Turbo my car, and I've almost reached the $5k mark saved, but it seems like a lot of hassle when I could just go the Factory-HPD route.

Basically, I'm jealous as hell of all your guys' knowledge on the topic. Best of luck with the continued build. My dreams of owning an uncommon car with that iconic "Pssshhhhhh" sound will have to wait.
AZ-CRZ is offline  
post #136 of 140 (permalink) Old 11-27-2016, 10:32 PM
Member
 
Nivek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Pakistan
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightwish View Post
Thanks Nivek. Using your maps would help.
Wiring would be no problem for me. I don't have the aem wideband, will get one, becouse the one i have isn't giving accurate readings comparing to the readings from the oem afr sensor.

I have the OBD2 ELM and using Dashcommand.

I don't know eighter why the maf sensor would perform better before turbo, but some big tuners are saying that it's the best place for turbo setups, so gonna try that.

I have a K&N filter also..... That came with the kit.
I won't need a O2 fooler, becouse my 2nd O2 sensor is disabled by the Ktuner software although it's after the racecat, it gave errors sometimes, so decided to disable it.
here i have written a complete guide of using AEM-FIC6 on AEM forums.you will note that it was not easy for us in the beginning but with trial and error we learnt all the things about it and how to perfetly tune and fool a modern ecu having both maf and map sensors.my username there is deltoid61.
Complete Guide to FIC-6,successfully fool a modern OBDII ecu | AEM

''Impossible'' itself says: 'i' 'm' 'possible'.
So never give up hope..
Nivek is offline  
post #137 of 140 (permalink) Old 11-27-2016, 10:47 PM
Super Duper Member
 
Aceryl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Portugal
Posts: 1,155
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by AZ-CRZ View Post
I've nothing really to contribute to the pre-existing discussion - only to say I think what you guys are doing is great. I really wanted to Turbo my car, and I've almost reached the $5k mark saved, but it seems like a lot of hassle when I could just go the Factory-HPD route.

Basically, I'm jealous as hell of all your guys' knowledge on the topic. Best of luck with the continued build. My dreams of owning an uncommon car with that iconic "Pssshhhhhh" sound will have to wait.
It's more about taste than anything else.
HPD is also a good option, however after trying both Supercharger, and turbocharger. I'm inclined to say i like the turbo more.

It just might take more time/money, to put it EXACTLY how you want. Dyno runs, re-tune etc.

Since the guy who tunes the car, and the one who drives, might enjoy different things.
Nivek likes this.

!!Let the fun begin!!Vuooooooom Pxxx xxxxx xxxx
2011 GT 200 HP Turbocharged @ 8Psi

Aceryl is online now  
post #138 of 140 (permalink) Old 12-02-2016, 04:05 AM
Member
 
Nivek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Pakistan
Posts: 145
Have you calculated how much will be spent in MAF route? how much tuning sessions etc
than weigh it agaist MAP route(AEM+tune).i am sure just 1 tune will be enough for MAP route as map is already there.your tuner just has to adjust where your turbo is producing boost.plus RDX 410cc injectors if you want to use my map.

''Impossible'' itself says: 'i' 'm' 'possible'.
So never give up hope..
Nivek is offline  
post #139 of 140 (permalink) Old 01-08-2017, 03:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Nightwish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 385
Nightwish is online now  
post #140 of 140 (permalink) Old 01-08-2017, 04:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Nightwish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nivek View Post
Have you calculated how much will be spent in MAF route?
We made a fixed price, so that's good for me now. Not so much for the tuner. We will give it one more try, if we can't get a good tune as i want it to be then i'm going to swich to aem in a year or so.
Nightwish is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Honda CRZ Forum: Honda CR-Z Hybrid Car Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome